HomeLatest ThreadsGreatest ThreadsForums & GroupsMy SubscriptionsMy Posts
DU Home » Latest Threads » Forums & Groups » Places » U.S. » Florida (Group) » If you know any Orange Co...

Sun Nov 10, 2013, 10:15 AM

If you know any Orange County teachers, please encourage them to join the rally at the school board

on November 12. The school board insists on supporting Rick Scott's merit pay bill 1 year earlier than the law requires. Most of the Rick Scott sycophants on the OCPS school board have no idea how flawed the merit pay law is but they are protecting him and the Republican legislature that passed the merit pay bill in 2011.

Send a message that this law is flawed and they need to hold off implementing it or they will be voted out for siding with Rick Scott and the Republicans!

Teachers should bring family, friends, and any other community supporters! Make this a HUGE rally in downtown Orlando!!

Here is the notice.....

Dear Community Members of Orange County,

Please support all teachers on Tuesday November 12th from 5:00-6:30 as we share real stories about how the new law to evaluate your child's teachers is being implemented in Orange County. We will stand outside on the School Board steps to read each others' letters to the public.

- Is your child one that "will count"? Do you want teachers looking at your child as a way to increase their paycheck or possibly a way they might lose money for their family? Is that a possible outcome?
-Are teachers told by some principals which students they must "focus" on for extra help only because they registered in time to be counted for the School Grade? Were they registered later?
- Is this the new "unspoken" discrimination going on in our public schools to achieve school grade?

What is the truth behind how Orange County implemented this evaluation law?

Would it be fair to evaluate a teacher on students they never see ? Did you know that 70% of our teachers fall into this category? Ask them. E-mail them. They are afraid to speak up and lose their job.

Bring your neighbors as we stand outside of the School Board building to read each others' letters. Share this with your fellow members at church, your neighbors, friends, and business leaders.

Will the new Orange County grading system, which doesn't allow a teacher to put the true grade your child received on their report card eventually affect their motivation or performance?

We will meet outside, from 5:00-6:30 on the steps of 445 Tampa Avenue, as our request for a public hearing was denied. This is what Democracy looks like and teachers are asking you to stand with us as we need your support.

Orange County Classroom Teachers
Orangecta@gmail.com
www.orangecta.com

Write to YOUR school board members after you hear these stories on Tuesday in person or on the news.

Bill.Sublette@ocps.net,
Joie.Cadle@ocps.net,
Pamela.Gould@ocps.net,
Nancy.Robbinson@ocps.net,
Rick.Roach@ocps.net,
Christine.Moore2@ocps.net,
Daryl.Flynn@ocps.net,
Kathleen.Gordon@ocps.net

0 replies, 913 views

Reply to this thread

Back to top Alert abuse

Reply to this thread