Welcome to DU! The truly grassroots left-of-center political community where regular people, not algorithms, drive the discussions and set the standards. Join the community: Create a free account Support DU (and get rid of ads!): Become a Star Member Latest Breaking News Editorials & Other Articles General Discussion The DU Lounge All Forums Issue Forums Culture Forums Alliance Forums Region Forums Support Forums Help & Search

question everything

(48,044 posts)
Wed Apr 10, 2024, 11:16 PM Apr 2024

Is this a real address?


Both of us subscribe to SiriusxM on our cars and a few weeks ago renewed the subscription.

Earlier this evening spouse received an email alerting that membership has expired.

But now that I look at the sender: tweetis.com?

Probably another scam.

5 replies = new reply since forum marked as read
Highlight: NoneDon't highlight anything 5 newestHighlight 5 most recent replies
Is this a real address? (Original Post) question everything Apr 2024 OP
Scam. I been receiving a ton of them. sprinkleeninow Apr 2024 #1
Thanks. Really looks legit and I was going to complain to Sirius tomorrow until I checked the address question everything Apr 2024 #2
You could confirm your actual account is paid up, active and in order sprinkleeninow Apr 2024 #3
Smart of you to look at the sender. usonian Apr 2024 #4
Thanks. I've learned this on these pages question everything Apr 2024 #5


(20,388 posts)
3. You could confirm your actual account is paid up, active and in order
Wed Apr 10, 2024, 11:35 PM
Apr 2024

just to put your mind at ease. Also, report to them what you received. I do not subscribe to Sirius so I know these emails I get are bogus. But bc you do subscribe, you might contact Sirius through your account portal online.

I got 2 Mailer Daemons on an AOL account from some wacky bogus email/website saying my email unsubscribing them was undeliverable. ??? I never did. Looked up similar email/site on the google and one entry had some words in Cyrillic mixed in. Russian or foreign Slavic. Yah, bogus!


(11,056 posts)
4. Smart of you to look at the sender.
Thu Apr 11, 2024, 01:47 AM
Apr 2024

Easiest giveaway is when the sending address looks nothing like the real sender.

They often try to trick people by putting the spoofed company's name inside some bogus address, like siriusxm.scammer.com ( exaggerated a bit to make the point )

question everything

(48,044 posts)
5. Thanks. I've learned this on these pages
Thu Apr 11, 2024, 11:52 AM
Apr 2024

For a while the sender had a pr in the domain which was pointed to me was Puerto Rico.

Then I would get from Social Security or the IRS when the address was gmail.

Latest Discussions»Help & Search»Computer Help and Support»Is this a real address?